Government of Mauritius
Ministry of Tourism Mauritius

Government of Mauritius   Ministry of Tourism Mauritius  







View Photo Gallery

About the awards

The World Travel Awards, which is based in the United Kingdom, was founded by Mr. Graham Cooke in 1993 to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all key sectors of the travel, tourism and hospitality industries. The WTA brand is now widely recognised as a hallmark of excellence and a benchmark which inspires all industry stakeholders. Each year, the WTA organises a series of regional gala events in Middle East, Europe, Asia, Australasia, Latin America, Africa and Indian Ocean, North America and the Caribbean to reward excellence within each continent, culminating in a grand finale at the end of each year. The regional winners then compete in the corresponding world categories. This year Mauritius has been conferred the honour to host the Gala Ceremony for Africa and Indian Ocean Region.

World Travel Awards gala ceremonies are regarded as milestone events in the industry calendar, attended by the industry’s key decision makers and tourism stakeholders as well as key trade and consumer media. The programme, its winners and its sponsors are represented globally on social media, with fresh daily content featured on six platforms and in 10 languages, including Mandarin, Russian, Spanish and Arabic.

The ceremony will bring together some 400 leading figureheads and VIPs from across the continent of Africa and the Indian Ocean, including Ministers, CEOs of Tourism Boards and Airlines, industry leaders, specialists and experts to recognise and celebrate the commitment to excellence which different actors and partners of the tourism industry have demonstrated over the past 12 months. The Ceremony will provide an excellent forum for networking and sharing best practices.


Sugar Beach Golf and Spa Resort, Flic en Flac